Published on [Permalink]
Reading time: 5 minutes

Swann’s Way, paragraph 35, part 1

Maman spent that night in my room; at this moment when I’d just committed an offense so grave I was waiting to be forced to leave home, my parents granted me more than I’d ever got from them as reward for good behavior. Even in the hour when it manifested itself so charitably, my father’s conduct toward me retained that something of the arbitrary and unearned that characterized it and that led to what it generally resulted in: the convenience of chance rather than a premeditated plan. Perhaps even what I’d call his severity when he’d send me to bed deserved less that name than the actions of my mother or my grandmother, for his nature, more different from mine than theirs on certain points, had probably not divined until now how unhappy I was every night, something my mother and grandmother knew full well; but the two of them loved me enough not to consent to sparing me some suffering, they meant to teach me to master it in order to lessen my nervous sensibility and strengthen my will. As for my father, whose affection for me was of another sort, I don’t know if he would have had the heart: for when he’d finally noticed my sorrow, he’d said to my mother, “Go console him, then.” Maman stayed that night in my room and, as if with no hesitation to spoil these hours turning out so different from what I was entitled to hope for, Françoise, when she understood something extraordinary was happening in seeing Maman seated near me, holding my hand, and letting me cry without scolding me, asked: “But Madame, what reason does the young master have to carry on this way?” Maman answered: “Even he doesn’t know why he’s crying, Françoise, he’s in a nervous state; make the big bed for me quickly and go to sleep.” Thus, for the first time, my sadness was no longer considered a punishable offense, but an involuntary malady that had just been officially recognized, a nervous condition for which I was not responsible; I had the relief of no longer needing to mix scruples with the bitterness of my tears, I could cry without sinning. I was also not a little haughty toward Françoise regarding this return of human things, as she, an hour after Maman had refused to come up to my room and had made her dismissively reply that I should go to sleep, was now raising me to the dignity of a grownup and had made me suddenly reach a kind of puberty by grief, an emancipation by tears. I should have been happy; yet I was not. It seemed to me my mother had just made a first concession that must have been painful for her, that this was a first abdication on her part before the ideal she’d conceived for me, and that for the first time she, so strong, faced defeat. It seemed to me that if I’d just won a victory, it was against her, that I’d succeeded the same way illness, sorrow, or age could have done, to relax her will, to weaken her reason, and that this evening would begin a new era, would remain in my memory a sad date.

Maman passa cette nuit-là dans ma chambre; au moment où je venais de commettre une faute telle que je m’attendais à être obligé de quitter la maison, mes parents m’accordaient plus que je n’eusse jamais obtenu d’eux comme récompense d’une belle action. Même à l’heure où elle se manifestait par cette grâce, la conduite de mon père à mon égard gardait ce quelque chose d’arbitraire et d’immérité qui la caractérisait et qui tenait à ce que généralement elle résultait plutôt de convenances fortuites que d’un plan prémédité. Peut-être même que ce que j’appelais sa sévérité, quand il m’envoyait me coucher, méritait moins ce nom que celle de ma mère ou ma grand’mère, car sa nature, plus différente en certains points de la mienne que n’était la leur, n’avait probablement pas deviné jusqu’ici combien j’étais malheureux tous les soirs, ce que ma mère et ma grand’mère savaient bien; mais elles m’aimaient assez pour ne pas consentir à m’épargner de la souffrance, elles voulaient m’apprendre à la dominer afin de diminuer ma sensibilité nerveuse et fortifier ma volonté. Pour mon père, dont l’affection pour moi était d’une autre sorte, je ne sais pas s’il aurait eu ce courage: pour une fois où il venait de comprendre que j’avais du chagrin, il avait dit à ma mère: «Va donc le consoler.» Maman resta cette nuit-là dans ma chambre et, comme pour ne gâter d’aucun remords ces heures si différentes de ce que j’avais eu le droit d’espérer, quand Françoise, comprenant qu’il se passait quelque chose d’extraordinaire en voyant maman assise près de moi, qui me tenait la main et me laissait pleurer sans me gronder, lui demanda: «Mais Madame, qu’a donc Monsieur à pleurer ainsi?» maman lui répondit: «Mais il ne sait pas lui-même, Françoise, il est énervé; préparez-moi vite le grand lit et montez vous coucher.» Ainsi, pour la première fois, ma tristesse n’était plus considérée comme une faute punissable mais comme un mal involontaire qu’on venait de reconnaître officiellement, comme un état nerveux dont je n’étais pas responsable; j’avais le soulagement de n’avoir plus à mêler de scrupules à l’amertume de mes larmes, je pouvais pleurer sans péché. Je n’étais pas non plus médiocrement fier vis-à-vis de Françoise de ce retour des choses humaines, qui, une heure après que maman avait refusé de monter dans ma chambre et m’avait fait dédaigneusement répondre que je devrais dormir, m’élevait à la dignité de grande personne et m’avait fait atteindre tout d’un coup à une sorte de puberté du chagrin, d’émancipation des larmes. J’aurais dû être heureux: je ne l’étais pas. Il me semblait que ma mère venait de me faire une première concession qui devait lui être douloureuse, que c’était une première abdication de sa part devant l’idéal qu’elle avait conçu pour moi, et que pour la première fois, elle, si courageuse, s’avouait vaincue. Il me semblait que si je venais de remporter une victoire c’était contre elle, que j’avais réussi comme auraient pu faire la maladie, des chagrins, ou l’âge, à détendre sa volonté, à faire fléchir sa raison et que cette soirée commençait une ère, resterait comme une triste date.