Published on [Permalink]
Reading time: 3 minutes

Swann’s Way, paragraph 33

It was not so. My father would constantly deny me permissions granted under broader pacts with my mother and grandmother, because he didn’t trouble himself with “principles” and there were no “human rights” with him. For arbitrary reasons, or even for no reason at all, at the last minute he’d deny me a walk so habitual, so consecrated, that I couldn’t be deprived of it without breach of contract, or, as he’d done again that evening, long before the ritual hour he’d say to me: “Run along, up to bed, no excuses!” And yet, because he had no principles (in the manner of my grandmother), he had no real intransigence either. He regarded me a moment, astonished and angry, and once Maman explained to him in a few embarrassed words what had happened, he told her: “So go with him, then. You just said you don’t want to sleep yet, so stay a while in his room. I don’t need anything myself.”

“But my dear,” answered my mother timidly, “whether I want to sleep or not doesn’t change anything. We can’t let him get in the habit of—”

“I’m not talking about getting him in the habit,” said my father, shrugging his shoulders. “You can see the boy is agitated—the child looks miserable. We’re not monsters, after all! Once you’ve made him sick, then you’ll have something to be proud of! Since there are two beds in his room, tell Françoise to make the big bed for you, and sleep near him tonight. Anyway, good night. I’m not as nervous as you two. I’m off to bed.”

Il n’en fut pas ainsi. Mon père me refusait constamment des permissions qui m’avaient été consenties dans les pactes plus larges octroyés par ma mère et ma grand’mère parce qu’il ne se souciait pas des «principes» et qu’il n’y avait pas avec lui de «Droit des gens». Pour une raison toute contingente, ou même sans raison, il me supprimait au dernier moment telle promenade si habituelle, si consacrée, qu’on ne pouvait m’en priver sans parjure, ou bien, comme il avait encore fait ce soir, longtemps avant l’heure rituelle, il me disait: «Allons, monte te coucher, pas d’explication!» Mais aussi, parce qu’il n’avait pas de principes (dans le sens de ma grand’mère), il n’avait pas à proprement parler d’intransigeance. Il me regarda un instant d’un air étonné et fâché, puis dès que maman lui eut expliqué en quelques mots embarrassés ce qui était arrivé, il lui dit: «Mais va donc avec lui, puisque tu disais justement que tu n’as pas envie de dormir, reste un peu dans sa chambre, moi je n’ai besoin de rien.» «Mais, mon ami, répondit timidement ma mère, que j’aie envie ou non de dormir, ne change rien à la chose, on ne peut pas habituer cet enfant…» «Mais il ne s’agit pas d’habituer, dit mon père en haussant les épaules, tu vois bien que ce petit a du chagrin, il a l’air désolé, cet enfant; voyons, nous ne sommes pas des bourreaux! Quand tu l’auras rendu malade, tu seras bien avancée! Puisqu’il y a deux lits dans sa chambre, dis donc à Françoise de te préparer le grand lit et couche pour cette nuit auprès de lui. Allons, bonsoir, moi qui ne suis pas si nerveux que vous, je vais me coucher.»

N o t e s

Shrugging his shoulders (“en haussant les épaules”). The French shrug a lot. I’ve seen them shrug at their partners or spouses in an exasperated way that implies they’re having to spell out something obvious, and the other must be an idiot. Sometimes this is good-natured, sometimes not.

We’re not monsters (“nous ne sommes pas des bourreaux”). Bourreau is an all-purpose word that means: executioner, hangman, torturer, killer, butcher, murderer, abuser, and, in general, a cruel and inhumane person.