Published on [Permalink]
Reading time: 17 minutes

Swann’s Way, paragraph 27

But the only one of us for whom Swann’s arrival became the object of painful preoccupation was me. It was just that on nights when visitors were there, or simply Monsieur Swann, Maman wouldn’t come up to my room. I’d eat before everyone else, and afterward I’d go sit at the table until eight, when it was expected I’d go upstairs; I’d have to carry this precious, fragile kiss, which Maman usually gave me in my bed when I fell asleep, from the dining room to my own room and hold on to it the whole time I undressed, without its sweetness breaking, without its volatile essence dispersing and evaporating, and, on those very evenings when I’d have needed to receive it with far greater care, I had to seize it, I had to steal it suddenly, publicly, without even the time and presence of mind necessary to pay what I was doing the attention that maniacs do when they try not to think of anything else while they close a door, so that, when pathological uncertainty comes over them again, they can victoriously fight it off with the memory of the moment when they closed it. We were all in the garden when the timid double bell rang. We knew it was Swann, yet we all looked at each other with a questioning air and sent my grandmother to scout. “Remember to thank him intelligibly for the wine, you know it’s delicious and the crate is enormous,” my grandfather counseled his two sisters-in-law. “Don’t start whispering,” said my great aunt. “Think how uncomfortable it is to arrive in a house where everyone talks low.” “Ah, here comes Monsieur Swann. Let’s ask him if he thinks the weather will be fine tomorrow,” said my father. My mother thought a word from her would erase all the difficulty that had been made within our family for Swann since his marriage. She found a way to pull him a little aside. But I followed her; I couldn’t make myself move even one step away, thinking soon I’d have to leave her in the dining room and go up to my room without having, as on other evenings, the consolation that she’d come kiss me. “So, Monsieur Swann,” she said, “tell me a little about your daughter; I’m sure she already has a taste for great artworks like her papa.” “Now, come and sit with all of us on the veranda,” said my grandfather, drawing near. My mother was obliged to accept the interruption, but she drew from this constraint another, even more delicate thought, like good poets forced by the tyranny of rhyme to discover their greatest beauties: “We shall speak of her again when it’s just the two of us,” she said to Swann in hushed tones. “Only a mother can truly understand these things. I am sure your daughter’s own mother would agree with me.” We all took our seats around the iron table. I’d have liked not to think of the hours of anguish I’d spend alone in my room that night, unable to fall asleep; I tried to convince myself these hours didn’t matter, since I’d have forgotten them by morning, to focus on thoughts of the future that should have led like a bridge beyond the nearby abyss that so frightened me. But my mind, strained by my preoccupation, made convex like the look I fixed on my mother, would admit no extraneous impressions. Thoughts entered it, but on condition of discarding any element of beauty or simply of humor that had touched or distracted me. The same way a patient, thanks to anesthetic, attends with full lucidity an operation being carried out on him, without feeling anything, I could recite to myself verses I liked or observe my grandfather’s efforts to speak to Swann about the Duke of Audiffret-Pasquier, without the former inspiring any emotion, the latter any cheer. My grandfather’s efforts were unfruitful. No sooner had he asked Swann a question about this orator, than one of my grandmother’s sisters, in whose ears his question registered as a profound but untimely silence that politeness called for breaking, asked the other: “Can you imagine, Céline, I met a young Swedish teacher who gave me the most interesting details about cooperatives in Scandinavian countries. She’ll have to come dine here one evening.” “I should think so!” replied her sister Flora. “But I’ve kept myself busy, too. I met Monsieur Vinteuil, an old scholar who knows Maubant very well, and Maubant has explained to him in the greatest detail how he goes about preparing a role. It’s absolutely fascinating. He’s a neighbor of Monsieur Vinteuil’s, I had no idea; and he’s very kind.” “Monsieur Vinteuil isn’t the only one who has friendly neighbors,” exclaimed my aunt Céline, in a voice that because of her habitual shyness sounded forced and premeditated, artificial, while casting on Swann what she’d have called a meaningful look. Now my aunt Flora, who’d understood this statement was Céline’s thanks for the case of Asti, was also looking at Swann, with a mixture of congratulations and irony, perhaps just to highlight her sister’s clever quip, or because she envied Swann for inspiring it, or because she couldn’t help teasing him as she believed he was on the hot seat. “I think we can convince this gentleman to come here for dinner,” continued Flora; “when you get him started on Maubant or Madame Materna, he speaks for hours without stopping.” “That must be delightful,” sighed my grandfather, in the manner of someone whom nature had unfortunately so completely failed to include the possibility of passionate interest in Swedish cooperatives or Maubant’s preparation for his roles that he’d neglected to provide my grandmother’s sisters the little bit of spice that had to be added to satisfy them with a story about the intimate life of Molé or the Comte de Paris. “See here,” said Swann to my grandfather, “what I’m going to tell you has more to do with what you were asking me than it seems, for on some points things have not changed very much. I was rereading something this morning in Saint-Simon that would have amused you. It’s in the volume on his time at the Spanish embassy; it’s not his best work, it’s barely more than a newspaper, but at least a wonderfully written newspaper, which already makes a tremendous difference from the dull newspapers we think we must read morning and night.” “I do not agree with you, there are days when reading the newspapers seems very pleasant to me,” interrupted Flora, to show she’d seen the credit for Swann’s Corot in the Figaro. “When they talk about things or people that interest us!” added Céline. “I can hardly disagree,” replied Swann, bewildered; “The problem I have with newspapers is that they make us pay attention each day to insignificant things, while only three or four times in our lives do we read books that contain essential things. As long as we’re all feverishly tearing the band off the newspaper every morning, people should change things and put in the newspaper, I don’t know … Pascal’s Pensées!” (He detached this last word with a tone of ironic emphasis so as not to sound pedantic.) “And instead it’s in the gilt-edge volume that we open only once every ten years,” he added, showing his disdain for worldly things as some men of the world do, “where we’d read that the Queen of Greece went to Cannes or that the Princess of Léon gave a costume ball. That way the proper proportion would be restored.” But, regretting that he’d allowed himself to speak even lightly on such serious matters, he said wryly, “Well, this is a fine conversation. I don’t know how we’ve ascended to this lofty realm.” He turned to my grandfather: “You see, Saint-Simon says that Maulevrier had the audacity to extend his hand to his sons. You know what he said about Maulevrier: ‘I never saw in that thick vessel anything but temper, coarseness, and foolishness.’” “Thick or not, I know of some vessels that contain something else altogether,” said Aunt Flora, who was also anxious to thank Swann, because the gift of Asti had been addressed to both sisters. Céline laughed. Swann, appearing puzzled, went on: “‘I don’t know whether it was ignorance or entrapment,’ wrote Saint-Simon, ‘that he wanted to give my children his hand. I noticed it quickly enough to prevent it.’” My grandfather was in ecstasies over “ignorance or entrapment,” but Mademoiselle Céline, for whom the name of Saint-Simon, a literary figure, had prevented the complete anesthesia of her auditory faculties, was indignant: “What? You admire that? Well, I never! Whatever can it mean? Isn’t one man as good as another? What does it matter if he’s a duke or a tick if he has intelligence and heart? He had a fine way of raising his children, your Saint-Simon, if he didn’t tell them to offer a hand to all honest people. It’s simply abominable. You dare quote this nonsense?” And my despondent grandfather, feeling the impossibility, faced with these obstructions, of trying to make Swann tell the stories that would have amused him, said in a low voice to Maman: “Remind me how it goes, that verse you taught me, the one that brings me so much relief in those moments. Ah, yes: ‘O Lord, how many virtues dost Thou make us hate!’ Ah, yes, very good.”

Mais le seul d’entre nous pour qui la venue de Swann devint l’objet d’une préoccupation douloureuse, ce fut moi. C’est que les soirs où des étrangers, ou seulement M. Swann, étaient là, maman ne montait pas dans ma chambre. Je ne dînais pas à table, je venais après dîner au jardin, et à neuf heures je disais bonsoir et allais me coucher. Je dînais avant tout le monde et je venais ensuite m’asseoir à table, jusqu’à huit heures où il était convenu que je devais monter; ce baiser précieux et fragile que maman me confiait d’habitude dans mon lit au moment de m’endormir il me fallait le transporter de la salle à manger dans ma chambre et le garder pendant tout le temps que je me déshabillais, sans que se brisât sa douceur, sans que se répandît et s’évaporât sa vertu volatile et, justement ces soirs-là où j’aurais eu besoin de le recevoir avec plus de précaution, il fallait que je le prisse, que je le dérobasse brusquement, publiquement, sans même avoir le temps et la liberté d’esprit nécessaires pour porter à ce que je faisais cette attention des maniaques qui s’efforcent de ne pas penser à autre chose pendant qu’ils ferment une porte, pour pouvoir, quand l’incertitude maladive leur revient, lui opposer victorieusement le souvenir du moment où ils l’ont fermée. Nous étions tous au jardin quand retentirent les deux coups hésitants de la clochette. On savait que c’était Swann; néanmoins tout le monde se regarda d’un air interrogateur et on envoya ma grand’mère en reconnaissance. «Pensez à le remercier intelligiblement de son vin, vous savez qu’il est délicieux et la caisse est énorme, recommanda mon grand-père à ses deux belles-sœurs.» «Ne commencez pas à chuchoter, dit ma grand’tante. Comme c’est confortable d’arriver dans une maison où tout le monde parle bas.» «Ah! voilà M. Swann. Nous allons lui demander s’il croit qu’il fera beau demain», dit mon père. Ma mère pensait qu’un mot d’elle effacerait toute la peine que dans notre famille on avait pu faire à Swann depuis son mariage. Elle trouva le moyen de l’emmener un peu à l’écart. Mais je la suivis; je ne pouvais me décider à la quitter d’un pas en pensant que tout à l’heure il faudrait que je la laisse dans la salle à manger et que je remonte dans ma chambre sans avoir comme les autres soirs la consolation qu’elle vînt m’embrasser. «Voyons, monsieur Swann, lui dit-elle, parlez-moi un peu de votre fille; je suis sûre qu’elle a déjà le goût des belles œuvres comme son papa.» «Mais venez donc vous asseoir avec nous tous sous la véranda», dit mon grand-père en s’approchant. Ma mère fut obligée de s’interrompre, mais elle tira de cette contrainte même une pensée délicate de plus, comme les bons poètes que la tyrannie de la rime force à trouver leurs plus grandes beautés: «Nous reparlerons d’elle quand nous serons tous les deux, dit-elle à mi-voix à Swann. Il n’y a qu’une maman qui soit digne de vous comprendre. Je suis sûre que la sienne serait de mon avis.» Nous nous assîmes tous autour de la table de fer. J’aurais voulu ne pas penser aux heures d’angoisse que je passerais ce soir seul dans ma chambre sans pouvoir m’endormir; je tâchais de me persuader qu’elles n’avaient aucune importance, puisque je les aurais oubliées demain matin, de m’attacher à des idées d’avenir qui auraient dû me conduire comme sur un pont au delà de l’abîme prochain qui m’effrayait. Mais mon esprit tendu par ma préoccupation, rendu convexe comme le regard que je dardais sur ma mère, ne se laissait pénétrer par aucune impression étrangère. Les pensées entraient bien en lui, mais à condition de laisser dehors tout élément de beauté ou simplement de drôlerie qui m’eût touché ou distrait. Comme un malade, grâce à un anesthésique, assiste avec une pleine lucidité à l’opération qu’on pratique sur lui, mais sans rien sentir, je pouvais me réciter des vers que j’aimais ou observer les efforts que mon grand-père faisait pour parler à Swann du duc d’Audiffret-Pasquier, sans que les premiers me fissent éprouver aucune émotion, les seconds aucune gaîté. Ces efforts furent infructueux. A peine mon grand-père eut-il posé à Swann une question relative à cet orateur qu’une des sœurs de ma grand’mère aux oreilles de qui cette question résonna comme un silence profond mais intempestif et qu’il était poli de rompre, interpella l’autre: «Imagine-toi, Céline, que j’ai fait la connaissance d’une jeune institutrice suédoise qui m’a donné sur les coopératives dans les pays scandinaves des détails tout ce qu’il y a de plus intéressants. Il faudra qu’elle vienne dîner ici un soir.» «Je crois bien! répondit sa sœur Flora, mais je n’ai pas perdu mon temps non plus. J’ai rencontré chez M. Vinteuil un vieux savant qui connaît beaucoup Maubant, et à qui Maubant a expliqué dans le plus grand détail comment il s’y prend pour composer un rôle. C’est tout ce qu’il y a de plus intéressant. C’est un voisin de M. Vinteuil, je n’en savais rien; et il est très aimable.» «Il n’y a pas que M. Vinteuil qui ait des voisins aimables», s’écria ma tante Céline d’une voix que la timidité rendait forte et la préméditation, factice, tout en jetant sur Swann ce qu’elle appelait un regard significatif. En même temps ma tante Flora qui avait compris que cette phrase était le remerciement de Céline pour le vin d’Asti, regardait également Swann avec un air mêlé de congratulation et d’ironie, soit simplement pour souligner le trait d’esprit de sa sœur, soit qu’elle enviât Swann de l’avoir inspiré, soit qu’elle ne pût s’empêcher de se moquer de lui parce qu’elle le croyait sur la sellette. «Je crois qu’on pourra réussir à avoir ce monsieur à dîner, continua Flora; quand on le met sur Maubant ou sur Mme Materna, il parle des heures sans s’arrêter.» «Ce doit être délicieux», soupira mon grand-père dans l’esprit de qui la nature avait malheureusement aussi complètement omis d’inclure la possibilité de s’intéresser passionnément aux coopératives suédoises ou à la composition des rôles de Maubant, qu’elle avait oublié de fournir celui des sœurs de ma grand’mère du petit grain de sel qu’il faut ajouter soi-même pour y trouver quelque saveur, à un récit sur la vie intime de Molé ou du comte de Paris. «Tenez, dit Swann à mon grand-père, ce que je vais vous dire a plus de rapports que cela n’en a l’air avec ce que vous me demandiez, car sur certains points les choses n’ont pas énormément changé. Je relisais ce matin dans Saint-Simon quelque chose qui vous aurait amusé. C’est dans le volume sur son ambassade d’Espagne; ce n’est pas un des meilleurs, ce n’est guère qu’un journal, mais du moins un journal merveilleusement écrit, ce qui fait déjà une première différence avec les assommants journaux que nous nous croyons obligés de lire matin et soir.» «Je ne suis pas de votre avis, il y a des jours où la lecture des journaux me semble fort agréable…», interrompit ma tante Flora, pour montrer qu’elle avait lu la phrase sur le Corot de Swann dans le Figaro. «Quand ils parlent de choses ou de gens qui nous intéressent!» enchérit ma tante Céline. «Je ne dis pas non, répondit Swann étonné. Ce que je reproche aux journaux c’est de nous faire faire attention tous les jours à des choses insignifiantes tandis que nous lisons trois ou quatre fois dans notre vie les livres où il y a des choses essentielles. Du moment que nous déchirons fiévreusement chaque matin la bande du journal, alors on devrait changer les choses et mettre dans le journal, moi je ne sais pas, les… Pensées de Pascal! (il détacha ce mot d’un ton d’emphase ironique pour ne pas avoir l’air pédant). Et c’est dans le volume doré sur tranches que nous n’ouvrons qu’une fois tous les dix ans, ajouta-t-il en témoignant pour les choses mondaines ce dédain qu’affectent certains hommes du monde, que nous lirions que la reine de Grèce est allée à Cannes ou que la princesse de Léon a donné un bal costumé. Comme cela la juste proportion serait rétablie.» Mais regrettant de s’être laissé aller à parler même légèrement de choses sérieuses: «Nous avons une bien belle conversation, dit-il ironiquement, je ne sais pas pourquoi nous abordons ces «sommets», et se tournant vers mon grand-père: «Donc Saint-Simon raconte que Maulevrier avait eu l’audace de tendre la main à ses fils. Vous savez, c’est ce Maulevrier dont il dit: «Jamais je ne vis dans cette épaisse bouteille que de l’humeur, de la grossièreté et des sottises.» «Épaisses ou non, je connais des bouteilles où il y a tout autre chose», dit vivement Flora, qui tenait à avoir remercié Swann elle aussi, car le présent de vin d’Asti s’adressait aux deux. Céline se mit à rire. Swann interloqué reprit: «Je ne sais si ce fut ignorance ou panneau, écrit Saint-Simon, il voulut donner la main à mes enfants. Je m’en aperçus assez tôt pour l’en empêcher.» Mon grand-père s’extasiait déjà sur «ignorance ou panneau», mais Mlle Céline, chez qui le nom de Saint-Simon,—un littérateur,—avait empêché l’anesthésie complète des facultés auditives, s’indignait déjà: «Comment? vous admirez cela? Eh bien! c’est du joli! Mais qu’est-ce que cela peut vouloir dire; est-ce qu’un homme n’est pas autant qu’un autre? Qu’est-ce que cela peut faire qu’il soit duc ou cocher s’il a de l’intelligence et du cœur? Il avait une belle manière d’élever ses enfants, votre Saint-Simon, s’il ne leur disait pas de donner la main à tous les honnêtes gens. Mais c’est abominable, tout simplement. Et vous osez citer cela?» Et mon grand-père navré, sentant l’impossibilité, devant cette obstruction, de chercher à faire raconter à Swann, les histoires qui l’eussent amusé disait à voix basse à maman: «Rappelle-moi donc le vers que tu m’as appris et qui me soulage tant dans ces moments-là. Ah! oui: «Seigneur, que de vertus vous nous faites haïr!» Ah! comme c’est bien!»

N o t e s

I’d eat before everyone else. A sentence that appears in some editions has been removed here, following the lead of Jean Milly, editor of this French edition: “Je ne dînais pas à table, je venais après dîner au jardin, et à neuf heures je disais bonsoir et allais me coucher” (“I wouldn’t eat at the table, I’d come after dinner to the garden, and at nine o’clock I’d say good night and go to bed”). As Milly says in his note 25, the omitted sentence “clearly retains the traces of an earlier uncorrected version” and is both “redundant” and “contradictory” with the one following it.

Essence. Proust wrote vertu volatile. It was Scott Moncrieff who originally chose to translate vertu as “essence” over “virtue.” It seems a good option to capture what Proust insinuates about his mother’s kiss being like a communion host (in this earlier paragraph.

Made convex. Proust wrote rendu convexe, and Scott Moncrieff translated it as “distended,” which is probably clearer. As it’s possibly another of Proust’s mathematical references, I have retained the word choice, although I am also not entirely sure how to picture a convex look. The pleading expression of a small child, eyes round and tearful, lips bulging? And presumably his mind is convex because it is metaphorically swelling with anxiety?

Duke of Audiffret-Pasquier. Edme-Armand-Gaston, duc d’Audiffret-Pasquier (1823–1905). French politician, an advisor to the Count of Paris, a gifted orator.

Maubant. Henri Polidore Maubant (1821–1902). Actor with the Comédie-Française.

Madame Materna. Amalie Materna (1844–1918). Austrian soprano known for performing in Wagner’s operas.

Saint-Simon. Louis de Rouvroy, duc de Saint-Simon (1675–1755), a diplomat and memoirist.

Thick vessel. Proust wrote _épaisse bouteille_—“thick bottle.” Some other insult would work better in English, but (1) apparently Saint-Simon actually wrote this about Maulevrier, whom he disliked, and (2) the insult needs to connect to the bottles of Asti, so that Aunt Flora’s comment makes sense.

Ignorance or entrapment. Proust wrote, after Saint-Simon, ignorance ou panneau, literally “ignorance or a trap.” The “a trap” phrasing lacks the French’s rhetorical impact due to lack of parallelism, one of the terms taking an article and the other lacking it, and one being abstract, the other concrete.