Published on [Permalink]
Reading time: 2 minutes

Swann’s Way, paragraph 4

At times, like Eve sprung loose from Adam’s rib, a woman would be born in my sleep from the false position of my thigh. Formed from the pleasure I was on the verge of savoring, she it was, I imagined, who offered me the flavor. My body, which sensed in hers its own heat, desired to meet – I’d awaken. All other humans seemed so distant compared to this woman I’d left only moments before; my cheek was still warm with her kiss, my body still ached with her weight and length. If, as sometimes happened, she took on traits of a woman I’d known in real life, I’d give myself entirely to this task: find her again, like those who set out to see with their own eyes a tantalizing city and imagine they can relish in reality the magic of the dream. Little by little her memory would vanish, I’d forget about my dream girl.

Quelquefois, comme Ève naquit d’une côte d’Adam, une femme naissait pendant mon sommeil d’une fausse position de ma cuisse. Formée du plaisir que j’étais sur le point de goûter, je m’imaginais que c’était elle qui me l’offrait. Mon corps qui sentait dans le sien ma propre chaleur voulait s’y rejoindre, je m’éveillais. Le reste des humains m’apparaissait comme bien lointain auprès de cette femme que j’avais quittée il y avait quelques moments à peine; ma joue était chaude encore de son baiser, mon corps courbaturé par le poids de sa taille. Si, comme il arrivait quelquefois, elle avait les traits d’une femme que j’avais connue dans la vie, j’allais me donner tout entier à ce but: la retrouver, comme ceux qui partent en voyage pour voir de leurs yeux une cité désirée et s’imaginent qu’on peut goûter dans une réalité le charme du songe. Peu à peu son souvenir s’évanouissait, j’avais oublié la fille de mon rêve.

N o t e s

Like Eve sprung loose. In French it’s comme Ève naquit, and naquit means “born.” I’ve chosen “sprung loose” for its rhythm and its active image.

False position. This is exactly what Proust wrote in French, fausse position. It happens, in both English and French, to be a mathematical concept.

Next paragraph