Published on [Permalink]
Reading time: 4 minutes

Swann’s Way, paragraph 1

For a long time I went to bed early. Sometimes, my candle barely snuffed, my eyes would close so fast I had no time to say, “I’m sleeping.” And after half an hour, the thought that it was time to seek my sleep would wake me; I’d want to put aside the book I thought I still had in my hands and blow my light out; I wouldn’t stop reflecting on whatever I’d just read, but these reflections took a turn to something rather strange; it would seem to me that I myself became the subject of the book: a church, a quartet, the rivalry between François the first and Charles the fifth. This belief persisted several seconds after waking; not a shock upon my reason, but weighing down like scales upon my eyes and stopping them from knowing how the candle wasn’t lit. Then the thought would start becoming unintelligible, like, post-metempsychosis, thoughts of an earlier existence; the subject of the book detached itself from me, I was free to reconnect to it, or not; all at once I’d get my sight back and be stunned to see a darkness all around me, soft and soothing to my eyes, but maybe even more so to my mind, to which the dark appeared as a thing without a cause, unknowable, something utterly obscure. I’d ask myself, what time could it be; I’d hear the whistling of trains that, near or far away, like the song of a bird in a wood, covering the distances, described the expanse of empty countryside where the traveler hastens to reach the next station; and the little path he follows will be engraved in his memory by the excitement he owes to these new places, to unaccustomed actions, to recent chatter and to goodbyes, beneath a foreign light, that follow him still in the silence of night, to the pending sweetness of returning.

Longtemps, je me suis couché de bonne heure. Parfois, à peine ma bougie éteinte, mes yeux se fermaient si vite que je n’avais pas le temps de me dire: «Je m’endors.» Et, une demi-heure après, la pensée qu’il était temps de chercher le sommeil m’éveillait; je voulais poser le volume que je croyais avoir encore dans les mains et souffler ma lumière; je n’avais pas cessé en dormant de faire des réflexions sur ce que je venais de lire, mais ces réflexions avaient pris un tour un peu particulier; il me semblait que j’étais moi-même ce dont parlait l’ouvrage: une église, un quatuor, la rivalité de François Ier et de Charles Quint. Cette croyance survivait pendant quelques secondes à mon réveil; elle ne choquait pas ma raison mais pesait comme des écailles sur mes yeux et les empêchait de se rendre compte que le bougeoir n’était plus allumé. Puis elle commençait à me devenir inintelligible, comme après la métempsycose les pensées d’une existence antérieure; le sujet du livre se détachait de moi, j’étais libre de m’y appliquer ou non; aussitôt je recouvrais la vue et j’étais bien étonné de trouver autour de moi une obscurité, douce et reposante pour mes yeux, mais peut-être plus encore pour mon esprit, à qui elle apparaissait comme une chose sans cause, incompréhensible, comme une chose vraiment obscure. Je me demandais quelle heure il pouvait être; j’entendais le sifflement des trains qui, plus ou moins éloigné, comme le chant d’un oiseau dans une forêt, relevant les distances, me décrivait l’étendue de la campagne déserte où le voyageur se hâte vers la station prochaine; et le petit chemin qu’il suit va être gravé dans son souvenir par l’excitation qu’il doit à des lieux nouveaux, à des actes inaccoutumés, à la causerie récente et aux adieux sous la lampe étrangère qui le suivent encore dans le silence de la nuit, à la douceur prochaine du retour.

N o t e s

Metempsychosis: I fought off a wish to translate métempsycose as “transmigration” or even the easier “rebirth.” I decided that here, granting Proust his Greek-derived word (similar to ankylosed, which will appear in a later paragraph and echo metempsychosis) matters more than the rhythm or flow. That said, to my ear the Greek-rooted words sit better in French than in English.

Next paragraph